Today is my last day of summer vacation. My mom and I went through my room and cleaned it out. Sorted the clothes I don’t want or don’t wear any more, organized, and through out about 4 bags of garbage. This is the first year I have felt like I really, truly, like my wardrobe. Yes, it could use a few more jeans and kakis, but for what I do have, I feel like it really is me.(Not that I’m saying I’m superficial and I wouldn’t be who I was without my clothes.) I’ve gotten quite a bit of new clothes since school ended. Well I guess quite a bit can mean a lot of different things, but I got 5 cami soles, 4 shirts, and 2 dresses, plus 1 band concert/speech contest shirt. That is quite a large portion of my wardrobe and what’s left from last year are pants, hoodies, and a few t-shirts for wearing to bed and for those lazy days when I don’t care how I look. I went to auditions in one of my “new” outfits, and got a few gasps and looks of approval. Now just to force myself to take the time to put together outfits and do my hair and make-up and I’ll be set.

This summer I have neglected to wear my glasses, since I really don’t need them for things other than seeing the board and driving. It will take a little effort to remember to grab them, and to get used to the “glasses make-up” again.

As I think all of you know, I’m vegetarian. That makes school lunches just that much more difficult. Let me just say, I’m not a salad person. The only salad I really like is my grandma’s Mediterranean Strawberry salad, and a few select others on certain days. Seeing that is the only thing that is guaranteed to be meat free at my school, I have turned too school lunches. I found a cook book that I got for Christmas last year, that is aimed at kids, and I just kind of said, “Thanks,” and put it away for it to never see the light of the day. One night when I was having trouble sleeping I grabbed the cook book and found out that a whole third of it is dedicated to brown bagging it. They have a whole table with bag lunch ideas, and tons of recipes. For this, I’m really excited for lunch this year. I have already made my first day lunch. It’s “Cucumber Under Wraps” which is a tortilla, with cream cheese, with a quartered cucumber wrapped in the center. Then I have a strawberry yogurt, and a chocolate hermit cookie. Upon school shopping I got a thermos and juice containers, so I can bring my favorite V-8 Tropical Blend juice and once the weather gets nippy I can have warm soup!

I don’t really know how to end this post, seeing I always have had trouble with closing statements. I usually end up with two awkward sentences, and getting a low grade on the conclusion.

-The Road to Success is Always Under Construction

p.s. did anyone notice how my last “paragraph” was a pun?

