This last month I’ve been way more into music that I have been. I’ve always loved music, don’t get me wrong, but there is a difference between loving music, and enjoying it. Recently I’ve been listening, and ENJOYING it, picking apart the words and finding the meanings in it, feeling the base beat through my ear drums, and actually finding it hard to move away from it to do simple things like bathe, or eat. The last few months I’ve been listening to it more and more, starting to enjoy it more. Listening to old songs and for the first time, really hearing it, understanding the words for the practical sense, and not just the literal.

For example, in a Hillary Duff song that I still have memorized, I used to think the lyrics “flying across the floor” meant that you found a slippery floor, laid down on it, and slid like a penguin. Now 16 year old Marina understands it’s more the feeling of “flying” when you have a crush, and that person makes you feel like you can fly, not that you are literally flying. I’ve found I could do this for a lot of my favorite songs in Elementary School. (Well probably not “My Humps” by the Black Eyed Peas, I don’t think there is much more meaning behind that one other than boobs and butts.)

Today I went through and found my old CDs. (yes CDs, not mp3s stored on a flash drive XD [okay that wasn’t funny, I need to stop trying to be funny, gah.]) I’ve actually only uploaded two to my iTunes, Let Go from Avril Lavigne, and Metamorphoses by Hillary Duff. Thinking about it, I think I should upload Britney Spears cd “Oops I did It Again” too, but that’s beyond the point. I do have other old Cds, but those aren’t as deep, like the Lizzie Mcquire show soundtrack, and the movie soundtrack, and Rugrats in Paris isn’t very deep either. (Am I saying Britney Spears, Hillary Duff, and Avril are deep? Oh wow, I just mean there is a deeper meaning than what I saw when I first heard them.)

With this re-falling in love with Music thing, I’m consider getting a new mp3 player/ipod. If I did, it would be an iPod, since those just last longer, and I think I would get an iTouch, since then there is twitter, and facebook, and WORDPRESS, that I can use on my WiFi, oh and the games :). In the last week I’ve gone from 2.5 hours of music on iTunes to 10 hours. I still haven’t even got much Wiz Rock on there yet, since I haven’t finished the 7th book, and the cds I want have spoilers on some of the songs. (I’ve been really looking at The Butterbeer Experience’s album Accio Hot Guy lately.) So wouldn’t it only make sense for me to have a good way to bring my music with me here and there. I do have an mp3 player, but it’s old, and has been banged around a lot, and I can’t always get music on it. It works, but it is also only 4 gb. I think I’ll just wait till I have all 4 gb used, and/or the iTouch comes out with a camera.

Okay, I think that’s it blog readers!

-The road to success is always under construction.

